South Hill Designs – a Weekend in Green and Red

South Hill Designs – a Weekend in Green and Red

South Hill Designs - a Weekend in Green and Red Hanging

So this weekend, I was travelling from my home in North Wales to an event in Telford in Shropshire and decided that as I was wearing mostly black, I’d jazz it up with a splash of colour from a locket.

And while I love to make a locket that has life-type meaning to it, I enjoyed putting this one together, simply based on the colours.

I started with the tiny cherries, they are so cute, and because the leaf and the cherries themselves are bright vibrant crystals, they were my basis and I built it up from there!

South Hill Designs - a Weekend in Green and Red Extreme Close Up

So I added the birthstone crystals in the rich dark green and sharp red, plus the beautiful crystal (January and May and April) because they were the obvious compliment. I added the Lipstick because it was just so me (I only wear red lipstick, and against black, it’s really very noticeable!). Then I felt it needed a couple of accents, so I brought in the Vintage Star from the Love collection and the Vintage Flower from the Vintage collection. Then it was a sprinkle of Platinum Pearls and I was done. But, I wanted a little back drop to it. The locket (Large Midnight Locket – 1.25″) comes with a great chain so it hangs nicely in the middle of your chest, but I decided to add a silver coin to it, and I actually turned it backwards so that if for any reason the locket flipped around, it would show ‘Love‘ written on it!

South Hill Designs - a Weekend in Green and Red

And the people who saw it loved it. I had liked the way the charms all moved around inside and didn’t sit perfectly all the time, and they did too. The first thing people said was how natural it looked all nestled in there together.

So while my photograph here shows it all neatly laid out so you can see the individual elements, my ‘hanging’ pictures show you the reality of how it sits!

Love it!

Sam x

join my team shop online 247

Sam Donald

South Hill Designs Independent Artist – UK, USA, Canada and Puerto Rico

If you’d like to make your own personalised locket, to shop, or to get a catalogue, please feel free to contact me, and of course you can shop online with South Hill Designs directly through me by clicking the ‘shop now’ button above. And if you’re thinking of joining South Hill Designs and want to join my team of  I’d most definitely like to hear from you! 

Leave a Reply

