South Hill Designs – A Musical Montage

South Hill Designs – A Musical Montage

South Hill Designs - A Musical Montage

When I was a child, our school loaned every child a recorder. It was standard practice. Every child could play ‘three blind mice’ on their recorder, with some degree of accuracy, and it was usually somewhere around the age of 8 or 9 that most children started to want to take their music to another level.

For me, it was the Flute, although I was about 11 before I started to learn, and borrowed a somewhat battered, but very well loved school one for a couple of years before my parents bought me one at the age of 14.

Sadly, I can’t read music though. I know what the notes are, and what sound should come out, how much to rest between etc etc, but my brain can’t translate it off the sheet fast enough, so I can only play by ear.

Unfortunately I was only ever ‘okay’ at the flute. I was never going to set the world on fire with it, and regrettably, the last time I played it in public was when I was 21.

I no longer have my flute. It was one of the first things to go when our expanding family grew faster than the salary rise did, and I wish I still had it now.

So instead, I put my love of music into this locket today.

It’s a kind of a somber blog post today. It’s not meant to be, but I think it’s a little sad that our children aren’t given recorders to blow at school, and that if they even considered wanting to learn an instrument, it comes at a very high price point of having to buy the instrument first and pay for lessons, even before they know if they like it or not.

Luckily, I do still have my guitar in the loft, so if one of the boys should want to start strumming, at least that is still there.

Equally as battered as the old school flute I borrowed, but equally as well loved.

Sam x

South Hill Designs - A Musical Montage close up

 

(locket ingredients – Medium Silver Crystal Locket (1″), Silver Infinity, Silver Crystal Half Moon, Treble Clef, Musical Note, Flute)

 

 

shop online 247Sale a Bration Joining Offer

 

 

 

Sam Donald

South Hill Designs Independent Artist – UK, USA, Canada and Puerto Rico

If you’d like to make your own personalised locket, to shop, or to get a catalogue, please feel free to contact me, and of course you can shop online with South Hill Designs directly through me by clicking the ‘shop now’ button above. And if you’re thinking of joining South Hill Designs and want to join my team of  I’d most definitely like to hear from you! 

Leave a Reply

